Notice: Undefined variable: _SESSION in /var/www/vhosts/ on line 24

Notice: Undefined index: count in /var/www/vhosts/ on line 53

Notice: Undefined index: meta.description.text in /var/www/vhosts/ on line 245

Notice: Undefined index: text in /var/www/vhosts/ on line 251
Team ATK Wins 2010 Parker 425 Race
2010 ATK Jeepspeed Challenge presented by O.C.Motorsports.
Round One. Best in the Desert Parker 425, Parker, Az. Feb 6th.
The 2010 Jeepspeed season got off to a roaring start with 27 Jeep entries at the classic Blue Water Resort and Casino Parker 425.
Thursday Feb 5th was party time in Parker with downtown race car display, live bands and food. The biggest news of the day was 2009 Jeepspeed Champion Ray Griffith upsetting the worlds fastest off road drivers with a second overall qualifying spot for the fastest 50 Trophy Trucks and buggies in his new Class 1 buggy purchased for him by his Grand Father. All Jeepspeed drivers were immensly proud of one of their own graduating in such style proving that racing Jeepspeed is the best and most affordable way to enter our sport.
Friday Feb 5th was a busy day for Jeepspeed registering seven Jeepspeed Cup and twenty Jeepspeed Challenge teams then carrying out technical inspections to ensure all Jeeps met with the strict Jeepspeed specification rules. All drivers were most concerned about the weather forecast for Saturday after the 2009 Parker 425 was a difficult race in monsoon conditions.
Saturday Feb 6th. Much to everyones releif the sun came out early as over 200 race cars staged in downtown Parker. First cars left the start line at 7.15 at 30 second intervals and the second half of the field , including Jeepspeed racers, leaving at 15 second intervals.
All cars raced down main street to the end of town and turned left into the desert . The Jeepspeed cars were to do two 140 mile laps.
Jeepspeed Cup.....Jon Krellwitz quickly passed all his Jeepspeed Cup Class 3700 competitors in his Team ATK Engines Wrangler to dominate the field and take the win by one hour and twenty minutes. Tom Barnet broke a front axle at mile 4 and was out early. Bob Mamer and Bob Land battled all day for second spot with Mamer pevailing. Ted Holt from Georgia got caught in the late evening downpour which flooded the track with 4 feet of standing water. Ted and his rookie team battled on the be one of the last finishers  taking 4th place in the class. Chase Rather and Yves Braun went missing in action.
Jeepspeed Challenge..... Class 1700 turned out to be an epic challenge, With 20 Jeeps leaving the line at 15 second intervals the racing was fast and furious. The late day storm added additional drama to a race of high attrition. The 2009 Parker 425 winner Eric Helgison and his Cherokee made it a back to back victory by winning again in 2010 with a convincing margin of over one hour. The next 7 Jeepspeed Challenge race cars all came across the finish line in quick sucession over a 60 minute time frame. Second place went to Clint Malburg in his Wrangler, followed by rookie teams Scott Watkins 3rd and Tom Thorvick 4th. Lady driver Tandi Hartman had a credible 5th place after her team had to change transmissions early in the race. The remainder of finishers were  2009 Rookie of the Year Chris Wacker, teenager rookie Austin Stobaugh, and veteran racer Eric Hieden. At time of writing we have  news on some of those that did not finish. Chris Nissley tree collision, Perry Coan engine failure (not an ATK engine), Billy Bunch electronics, Jim Hunt rear axle failure, Mike Shaffer front axle failure. Jeepspeed racing has become super competitive and all drivers are now racing on the limits of their skill and  strength of their vehicles.
Additional awards went to Ted Holt and Eric Heiden with Motive Gear Die Hard Award for last place finisher in Jeepspeed Cup and Jeepspeed Challenge. Eric Helgison won the Orange Coast Jeep "Lucky Seven" award for drawing 7th starting position.
In conclusion it was a highly sucessful race run with the normal efficientcy of Best In The Desert. 
 Round Two of The ATK Jeepspeed Challenge at the world famous General Tire Mint 400, Las Vegas , March 26/27.
Thank you sponsors.
ATK Performance Engines. ..O.C.Motorsports..Orange Coast Jeep.. Raceline Wheels the Official Wheel of Jeepspeed...General Tire the Official Tire of Jeepspeed... Currie Enterprises...King Racing Shocks...Motive Gear...Rustys Off Road...Rubicon Express...Howe Steering...AEM...Sign Pros...Sunoco...RDM
Copyright ATK North America

Warning: fopen(/var/www/vhosts/ [function.fopen]: failed to open stream: Permission denied in /var/www/vhosts/ on line 74